Rape Defense Lawyer in Riverside
Sex Crime Attorney Serving Temecula & Riverside
If you've been charged with rape in California, it can have a detrimental
effect on almost every aspect of your life, including relationships, employment
opportunities, and living situations. Without someone on your side, fighting
such charges can be an isolating experience.
Riverside sex crime lawyer,
Attorney Grande knows that nothing is more important than preserving your innocence and
can use his experience to work toward that. His extensive knowledge of
California's legal system can benefit your case, but it is important
to contact him as soon as possible.
Contact our Riverside rape attorney today to learn more about how we can defend you.
Definition of Rape in California
Rape is a form of
sexual assault. The law criminalizes sexual intercourse that occurs when at least one
of the individuals involved does not consent. While this is a broad definition
the California Penal Code lists the following scenarios that could be
- The victim lacked the capacity to give consent due to intoxication or physical
or mental disability.
- Sexual intercourse occurred by means of physical force, intimidation, duress
of threats of harm.
- Intercourse occurred while the victim was unconscious or asleep.
- The defendant persuaded sexual intercourse by means of fraudulent representation.
Types of Rape Charges
Under California law, there are three main types of rape charges you could
be convicted of:
Rape – Date Rape can be defined as non-consensual sexual activity between
you and an acquaintance or friend.
Spousal Rape – The law defines spousal rape as nonconsensual intercourse that occurs
between you and your spouse without their given consent.
Statutory Rape – Sexual intercourse between an adult 18 years of age or older and an individual
under the age of 18. California law considers sexual intercourse with
an individual under the age of 18 rape, even if that person gave consent.
Individuals under 18 cannot give consent.
Possible Penalties for a Rape Conviction in California
Rape occurs when someone forces a victim to have sex against the victim's
will. Statutory rape occurs when an individual who is 18 years of age
or older has sex with someone younger than 18 years old. Even if the act
was consensual, the adult can still be charged with rape.
Rape charges vary based on circumstances and the age of the victim.
The most common penalties include:
Fines: Up to $70 paid to the victim or up to $1,000 paid to a women's shelter
Incarceration: A minimum of three years
Probation: Mandatory meetings with a probation officer and may be required to fulfill
A rape conviction can also require the defendant to register as a sex offender.
One of the most used defenses for a rape charge is to claim that the act
was consensual. If this can be proved, then the court may be unable to
convict the defendant.
Your future is on the line!
While fighting a rape charge is difficult, it is by no means impossible
and Attorney Grande knows this first hand. He has successfully represented
hundreds of clients throughout Southern California and would be honored
to represent you, as well. Learn more about why you should
choose The Law Office of David E. Grande for your
criminal defense today.
Speak to our Riverside rape attorney about your case today. Call to
schedule a free consultation. (951) 221-4331