Riverside Domestic Violence Lawyer

Don’t Let a Domestic Violence Accusation Turn into a Conviction

Domestic violence is serious accusation that comes with harsh penalties. The state of California is very eager to prosecute those who are charged with domestic violence, which means you’ll be facing an uphill battle if you don’t secure the right representation to defend you in court. Attorney David Grande can fight for alternatives to the severe penalties often associated with domestic violence convictions. Since 2002, he has devoted his practice to criminal defense law and has earned a successful track record in the legal community for the hundreds of cases he has handled. He is prepared to fight for the best possible outcome in your domestic violence case, too.

When charged with domestic violence, your reputation, family and future well-being will all be at risk as you face the possibility of a conviction and the consequences that go along with it. To best defend and protect your rights at this time, you need to quickly hire an experienced, proven Riverside domestic violence lawyer like Attorney Grande. His good standing with local judges, District Attorneys and prosecutors means you’ll stand a better chance at getting your charges dropped or your sentencing reduced.

Facing charges for domestic violence? Contact our Riverside domestic violence attorney today to start your defense.

California Domestic Violence Laws

By definition, domestic violence is abuse or threats of abuse when the alleged victim and the defendant:

  • Are or have been in an intimate relationship
    • Married or domestic partners
    • Are dating or used to date
    • Live or lived together
    • Have a child together
  • Are closely related by blood or by marriage

The domestic violence laws define “abuse” as:

  • Physically hurting or trying to hurt someone, intentionally or recklessly
  • Sexual assault
  • Making someone reasonably afraid that they or someone else are about to be seriously hurt (like threats or promises to harm someone)
  • Behavior like harassing, stalking, threatening, or hitting someone; disturbing someone’s peace; or destroying someone’s personal property

Forms of abuse include:

  • Kicking
  • Shoving
  • Pushing
  • Throwing things
  • Scaring or stalking the alleged victim
  • Preventing the alleged victim from freely coming and going

It also includes verbal, emotional and psychological abuse, not just physical.

Penalties for Domestic Violence in CA

Domestic violence laws in California are very specific and complex, so Attorney Grande will work diligently to prove that your case details do not satisfy every aspect of these domestic violence laws. Even if he can prove that your actions were not willful or done on purpose, this very detail alone could benefit your likelihood of seeing a favorable result.

Those convicted of domestic violence could face misdemeanor or felony punishments, depending on whether the defendant committed assault and battery or a corporal injury. Attorney Grande will analyze every detail connected to your case to find ways to reduce your charges or get them dismissed altogether.

Misdemeanor Domestic Violence

If you’re convicted of domestic battery, this misdemeanor is punishable by:

  • Up to $2,000 fine
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Both fine and imprisonment
  • A restraining order may be ordered against you
  • You may be forced to participate in a rehabilitation program

Felony Domestic Violence

If you’re convicted of inflicting a felony corporal injury on the victim, you may face:

  • Up to $6,000 fine
  • A minimum of 1 year and maximum of 4 years in jail
  • Both fine and imprisonment
  • A restraining order may be ordered against you
  • You may be forced to participate in a rehabilitation program

Attorney David Grande can attempt to combat your accusations by using defense strategies such as:

  • Self-defense
  • Police misconduct
  • Lack of evidence
  • False allegations
  • Accident
  • Misidentification
  • Domestic violence didn’t happen at all

How Bad is a Domestic Battery Charge?

In California, domestic battery is the unlawful and willful use of violence or force against a former or current intimate partner. If you are charged and convicted of domestic battery you can face the following penalties:

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 364 days in jail
  • Or both

If convicted, you may also be required to complete a batterers’ treatment program, pay to reimburse the victim’s counseling and pay a fine to fund a battered women’s shelter.

Discuss Your Domestic Violence Case Today!

You do not deserve to sit behind bars or pay large fines if you don’t have to. When you hire Attorney David Grande to defend your domestic violence case, you can feel confident knowing that he will commit his time, focus and valuable resources to defending you against the allegations that have been made in your name. Our Riverside domestic violence attorney has been 100% dedicated to defending criminal cases, and only that, for 18 years. His dedication and passion for helping clients fight for their liberties is truly unique.

Your opportunity to fight your domestic violence charges is only a phone call away. Contact our Riverside domestic violence lawyer today for your free consultation!

Reasons to Hire Attorney Grande:

  • Hundreds of Successful Results

  • Highly Recognized & Respected

  • Payment Plans Available

  • Ranked Top 100 Trial Lawyers

  • Aggressive but Caring Approach

  • Free Initial Consultations

Don’t Wait Until It’s Too Late

Take the First Step
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.