Temecula Underage DUI Attorney
Providing California’s Underaged Drivers With Reliable Legal Solutions
For underage drivers, automobile accidents are one of the most common causes of death. Underage drivers typically have been driving for fewer than 6 years, so they aren’t the most confident drivers. Underage drinking continues to be a problem, and when inebriated young, inexperienced drivers get behind the wheel of a car, they are primed for an automobile crash. In California, underage drunk driving is a serious problem with potentially fatal consequences.
Underage drivers are vulnerable to traffic accidents for many reasons, but the most common are:
- Underage Drinking
- Distracted Driving
According to California law, drivers under 21 are subject to Zero Tolerance DUI laws that discourage underage drinking and driving. If you’re an underage driver or the parent of a young adult charged with a DUI, you need to consult with our Temecula Underage DUI attorney immediately. Don’t assume the court will be lenient because it’s a first offense. Zero Tolerance DUI laws mean your child could face penalties, fines, and license suspension. At The Law Office of David E. Grande, our Temecula Underage DUI attorney, can help you fight these charges.
Reach out to our skilled underage DUI lawyer in Temecula today. Call (951) 221-4331 or use our convenient online contact form.
California Vehicle Code 23136: Zero Tolerance Law
California underage DUI offenses are subject to California Vehicle Code 23136, also known as the Zero Tolerance law. Drivers under 21 stopped by law enforcement with a BAC of 0.01 percent alcohol in their system violate the state’s drunk driving laws. For underage drivers, any amount of alcohol in their system violates California's Zero Tolerance law. Once an underage or young adult driver below the age of 21 is assessed by law enforcement and given a roadside alcohol screening, commonly referred to as a field sobriety test and a breathalyzer test, they will face an infraction if they have a BAC of .01 or a standard DUI if their BAC is .08 or higher. Even medications with alcohol can cause a driver under 21 to fail a breathalyzer test, which puts them in violation of CA vehicle code 23136. While not charged as a crime, violating the Zero Tolerance law can lead to a suspended license, fines, and penalties. With the help of an experienced Temecula underage DUI attorney, you can fight your license suspension.
Penalties Related to California’s “Zero Tolerance” Law
A violation of California’s Zero Tolerance law is considered an infraction, so there are no charges; but violators can face fines and penalties, such as:
- Driver’s License Suspension – 1 Year
- Additional License Suspension for Sobriety Test Refusal (1 to 2 additional years)
- Three Months or More of Anti-Drunk Driving Education
According to CA Vehicle Code 23140, underage drinkers with a BAC of .05 face more stringent consequences, such as:
- Driver’s License Suspension – 1 Year (first offense only)
- Alcohol and Drug Education
- $100 1st offense
- $200 2nd offense (within a year)
- $300 3rd offense (within a year)
Even as an underage drinker, if you are pulled over by law enforcement with a BAC of .08 or more, you would face standard misdemeanor penalties. You could face jail time, probation, serious fines, and license suspension despite your age. Underage drinkers with a BAC of .08 will face charges under CA Vehicle Code 23152, which is a misdemeanor. Furthermore, if an underaged driver is responsible for an injury or death because they were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol – it’s a felony offense. A felony conviction can mean four or more years behind bars. Plus, if an underage drinker injures someone in their inebriated state, they will face penalties and owe restitution to any injured drivers.
Reach Out Today for Help From Our Experienced Temecula Underage DUI Attorney
At The Law Office of David E. Grande, we are dedicated to helping underaged drivers fight prosecution against them. So, if your child has been arrested for or charged with a DUI, you need an attorney ready to mount a strong legal defense.
Contact our firm today to discuss scheduling a consultation with our legal team. We can review your case and develop a strategy in your defense. Call (951) 221-4331 or use our convenient contact form.
Proven Results From a Passionate Attorney
PC 245(c) Felony - Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Fire Fighter
PC 242 Misdemeanor Battery
PC 211 Felony/“Strike” Robbery
PC 166(A)(4) Misdemeanor Violation of Court Order
PC 148(a)(1) Misdemeanor